First and foremost, we hope everyone is doing well and taking all appropriate measures to safeguard the health and safety of employees, clients, visitors and others with whom you do business. You should be closely monitoring developments at the national, state and local level, communicating with your employees regularly, and making necessary adjustments in how you conduct your business. That is what we are doing at Carmody.

We know that many of you have received information about a Bill that Congress is expected to pass that would provide paid sick leave and paid FMLA for employees and that would provide a tax credit for employers. The Bill has been passed by the House and is expected to be passed by the Senate and signed into law as early as today. As soon as that occurs, we will send an e-alert summarizing the new requirements.

In the meantime, our attorneys have been fielding many questions from clients about a number of issues related to COVID-19. Here are some of the topics we have been addressing and are prepared to assist you with should you have any questions:

Privacy Issues Related to Medical Inquiries, Testing and Sharing Information
Implementing and Planning Reductions in Force
Possible WARN Act Obligations
Telecommuting/Remote Work Issues
Discrimination and ADA Issues
Unemployment Compensation, Furloughs, Shared Work and Partial Unemployment
COBRA/Continuation of Benefits for Furloughed Employees
Use of PTO, Sick Leave, FMLA and other leave laws and policies
Wage and Hour Issues
Labor Law Issues/Duty to Bargain
OSHA/Workplace Safety Obligations
Workers’ Compensation Issues
Immigration Issues
Imposing Travel Restrictions
Social Distancing and Workplace Hygiene Policies
First Amendment Issues
Contractual Obligations/Force Majeure Issues

We are here to help you during this difficult period of uncertainty. Please feel free to contact any member of our Labor & Employment team.

D. Charles Stohler
(203) 575-2626; cstohler@carmodylaw.com

Giovanna T. Weller
(203) 575-2651; gweller@carmodylaw.com

Domenico Zaino, Jr.
(203) 578-4270; dzaino@carmodylaw.com

Alan H. Bowie
(203) 784-3117; abowie@carmodylaw.com

Stephanie E. Cummings
(203) 575-2649; scummings@carmodylaw.com

Maureen Danehy Cox
(203) 575-2642; mcox@carmodylaw.com

Pam Elkow
(203) 252-2672; pelkow@carmodylaw.com

Vincent Farisello
(203) 578-4284; vfarisello@carmodylaw.com

Sarah S. Healey
(203) 578-4225; shealey@carmodylaw.com

Lauren M. Hopwood
(203) 784-3104; lhopwood@carmodylaw.com

Howard K. Levine
(203) 784-3102; hlevine@carmodylaw.com

Mark F. Williams
(203) 575-2618; mfwilliams@carmodylaw.com

Holly G. Wheeler
(203) 784-3158; hwheeler@carmodylaw.com

Sherwin M. Yoder
(203) 784-3107; syoder@carmodylaw.com